Johnnie L. Cochran Jr. Soaring Eagle Award | The American Association For Justice Archive

Johnnie L. Cochran Jr. Soaring Eagle Award

The Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr., Soaring Eagle Award was established in 1997 and symbolizes the struggle of lawyers of color as they travel the road to personal and professional success. The AAJ Minority Caucus presents this award annually to an attorney who, despite the challenges of his or her own journey, pursues excellence and has made outstanding efforts and contributions to the legal profession in paving the way for others.

To submit a nomination for the 2018 Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr. Soaring Eagle Award​, please fill out this form and email it to by April 15.

This award is presented at the AAJ Annual Convention.

The American Association for Justice proudly announces the 2017 recipient of the Johnnie L. Cochran, Jr., Soaring Eagle Award:

Senator Marlon Kimpson

Past Recipients

2016: Frank Herrera, Jr. 
2015: The Honorable Staci Michelle Yandle
2014: Congressman James E. Clyburn
2013: Carl E. Douglas
2012: Daryl Parks and Benjamin Crump
2011: Judge Charles Price
2010: Frankie Muse Freeman
2009: Nina Perales
2008: Judge U.W. Clemon
2007: Charles B. Rangel
2006: Judge Matthew J. Perry, Jr.
2005: Judge Horace T. Ward
2004: Antonia Hernandez
2003: Fred D. Gray
2002: Donald L. Hollowell
2001: Robert Hernandez
2000: Charles Mathis
1999: Johnnie Cochran
1998: Lem Howell
1997: J. Robert Carr

For more information contact AAJ Staff:

Jennifer Rafter