Richard D. Hailey Scholarship | The American Association For Justice Archive

Richard D. Hailey Scholarship

AAJ's Minority Caucus will award a $5,000 scholarship to a minority law student member who is entering his/her first, second, or third year of law school. The winner will be provided opportunity to attend the AAJ Annual Convention. 

2020 Cycle

Scholarship Applications open on February 1, 2020. Applications are due May 15, 2020. 

The scholarship will be awarded to the applicant who best:

  • Exhibits an interest and proficiency of skills in trial advocacy
  • Expresses a desire to represent those who have been injured by the negligence or misconduct of others
  • Promotes accountability and safety
  • Demonstrates a commitment to AAJ and dedication to its mission through involvement in an AAJ student chapter and Minority Caucus activities
  • Shows a financial need for the scholarship

Applications must include the following:

  • A resumé
  • A 500-word essay on how you meet the criteria
  • Up to three (3) recommendations from a faculty adviser, trial advocacy professor, dean, AAJ member, or trial lawyer; and
  • A completed form verifying your student status.


DOWNLOAD Richard D. Hailey Scholarship Verification FORM 


Every applicant must be an AAJ law student member (join here) and enrolled in an ABA accredited law school. Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Submit applications to: 
AAJ Membership Department 
777 6th Street NW
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20001

For more information, contact the AAJ Membership Department at 800-424-2727 or

To donate to the Richard D. Hailey Scholarship fund, visit

Congratulations to the winner of the 2019 Richard D. Hailey Scholarship:

Alexandra Irizarry
St. John's University School of Law

Past Recipients 


Lashandra Peoples-Johnson
University of Tulsa School of Law


Asma Jaber
Harvard Law School


Brittany Smith
Boston College Law School


Luis Beltran, University of California, Hastings College of Law
Shevonne S. Greene, Fordham University School of Law 


Portia Britt
University of Missouri, School of Law
Columbia, MO

Ka’Nea Brooks
Emory Law School
Atlanta, GA

Avvennett Gezahan
St. Louis University, School of Law
St. Louis, MO

Jiali Huang
Benjamin Cardozo School of Law 
New York, NY

Michael Park
University of Illinois, College of Law
Champaign, IL

Monique Peterkin
Howard University, School of Law
Washington, DC